One morning at the crack of dawn, I went out with my cup of coffee. I often go out and sit in the gazebo to greet the day. Directly over my head I heard a sweep of wings, huge wings (I probably ducked).  My breath was for an instant caught in my throat. As I looked up, a throng of Turkey Vultures, their wing span spread across the sky, or so it seemed! Oh what a moment.

I ran in to grab my camera. What a pleasure to have them stop, to rest find rest in my yard, as they were migrating for the season. I counted fifty or so, too my delight.

026.JPG

Turkey Vultures are quit often misunderstood.  Most would view them as gross and ugly; I know I did. They are often associated  only with death. Lets put the myths and tales to rest and reflect; of the exact opposite to be true.  Lets look at a passage so often is quoted, from the Bible, Isaiah 40: 31 But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up on wings as (Eagles) “vultures” they shall run and not be weary they shall walk and not faint. doesn’t quite sound the same does it? Eagle in Hebrew could very well mean vulture or griffon= נֶשֶׁר H5404 nesher. 

A Latin term for the Turkey Vulture is Golden Purifier, as unlike the Raven they consume what is dead and create life from it. The vulture is truly a wonderful creature. A reflection of never-ending vigilance. 1 Peter 5:8 Be of sober spirit, be on the alert Your adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. Constant vigilance is a mantra I hold dear.

Characteristics Turkey Vultur.pngGoogle Image: Park Ranger Julie Stonefelt and her husband Kevin Mack

A passage very befitting here is: Matthew 6:26 Look at the birds of the air: They do not sow or reap or gather into barns —and yet your Heavenly Father feeds them.

Look to the birds of the air the Lord says. I have many birds that visit my yard, yet the “Day of the vultures” that was a visit that far out weighed all others.

I say all that to say: “I take nothing for granted, I believe the Lord is always speaking. As He is the great creator, He will use amazingly creative ways to speak to us, if we keep our focus always on Him.

What the Lord spoke to me on the Day of the Condors is: Constant Vigilance, and that ALL things are made pure in His hands. The day also spoke to me to keep all things in perspective, and that the Lord cares for the birds; how much more He cares for you and I!

028.JPG

The simple little things, are the ones I find the most joy.

Thank you for visiting and, forgive me please as I continue to build my writing skills.

 

 

 

